Board of Trustees

In accordance with the Foundation’s Statements, the Board of Trustees exerts its roles of governance and management as a representative body of the Foundation. The Board of Trustees is responsible for ensuring that the Foundation’s goals are fulfilled, and for duly administrating the goods and rights that are drawn by of the Foundation to guarantee the maintenance of the Foundations’ resources and their use. The Board of Trustees is required to approve an audited financial statement for each financial year.

President, 2015 – present

Vicente Arroyo is Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the University of Barcelona, Spain. He was a former Chair of the EASL-CLIF Consortium, Director of the Grifols Chair (2015–2021), and served as EF CLIF Director from 2015 to 2024. He was the Chief of the Liver Unit at Hospital Clínic de Barcelona (1985–1998), Director of the Institute of Digestive and Metabolic Diseases of the Hospital Clínic de Barcelona (1998–2009), Chair of the Department of Medicine at the University of Barcelona (2000– 2003), and Director of the Esther Koplowitz Center for Biomedical Research (2009–2015). Arroyo is an Honorary member of several learned societies and research foundations across Latin America and active member of major national and international associations for the study of the liver. His research interests include complications of cirrhosis such as ascites, acute bacterial infection, and acute-on-chronic liver failure. Throughout his career, Arroyo has received numerous awards and has served as Editor-in-Chief of International Hepatology Updates (2012–2015), Associate Editor for Journal of Hepatology (1995–1999) and Hepatology (2001–2006). Currently, and Special Section Editor of Journal of Hepatology.

Mauro Bernardi

Appointed Trustee, 2015 – present

Emeritus Professor of Internal Medicine at University of Bologna, Italy. Mauro Bernardi was former Director of the Department of Internal Medicine and Hepatology (2000–2006) and Postgraduate School in Internal Medicine (2013–2016) at the University of Bologna, Italy, where he has also served as the Chair of the Research Observatory (2010–2013) and Bioethics Committee (2016–2022). From 1978 to 1981, Bernardi was a member of the Scientific Committee of the Italian Association for the Study of the Liver (AISF). From 2008 to 2019, he served as the Treasurer of the European Association for the Study of the Liver (EASL); and from 2009 to 2019, he served as the Vice-Chair of the EASL-CLIF Consortium Steering Committee. Bernardi has received the Distinguished Service Awards from the AISF (2015) and the Hilfenhaus Award from the Plasma Protein Therapeutics Association (PPTA) (2018).

Antonio Páez

Appointed Trustee, 2017 – present

Vice-President of Scientific and Medical Affairs, Scientific Innovations Office at Grifols, Spain. Antonio Páez is a physician and physicist. As a physician, he holds a medical degree (1992) from the Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain, and specialized in Hematology and Hemotherapy. From 1993 to 1996, Páez gained clinical practice expertise at Hospital Universitari Sagrat Cor and Hospital Clínic de Barcelona, Spain, and Mount Sinai Medical Center, NY, USA. In 2010, he obtained a degree in Physical Science from the Open University, UK. In 1998, Páez joined the Medical Department at AMGEN’s affiliate in Spain, and joined the Corporate Medical Division at Almirall in 2001. In 2004, he joined Grifols where he has held different positions within the Clinical Trials Department before being appointed Medical Director of the Plasma Protein Replacement Therapies Group. He is currently the Vice President of Scientific and Medical Affairs at Grifols.

Ignasi Bruguer

Appointed Trustee, 2023 – present

Lawyer at Osborne Clarke, Spain. Ignasi Bruguer graduated in Law (2011) from the University of Barcelona, Spain. With more than 10-year experience as the legal advisor and secretary to the board of different profit and non-profit organizations, Bruguer is a corporate transactions lawyer specializing in mergers and acquisitions who has also advised several R&D spin-offs and start-ups from different research organizations.